2015 Edition FAQs

Q: When will the 2015 Edition program launch?

A: ICSA Labs has launched the 2015 Edition program! To discuss pricing and details on how to apply for the program, please contact us.

Q: Are you offering any education on the 2015 Edition requirements?

A: ICSA Labs has completed a 5-webinar series on the 2015 Edition program. You may access the recordings to those webinars at https://www.icsalabs.com/technology-program/news-events.

Q: Where can I find the 2015 Edition test procedures?

A: The ONC-approved test methods are located at https://www.healthit.gov/policy-researchers-implementers/2015-edition-test-method.

Q: Which criteria make up the Base EHR definition in the 2015 Edition program?

A: The following table is excerpted from the 2015 Edition Final Rule and identifies the criteria that make up the Base EHR definition.

Table 7. Certification Criteria Required to Satisfy the 2015 Edition Base EHR Definition

Base EHR Capabilities

Certification Criteria

Includes patient demographic and clinical health information, such as medical history and problem lists

Demographics 170.315(a)(5)

Problem List 170.315(a)(6)

Medication List 170.315(a)(7)

Medication Allergy List 170.315(a)(8)

Smoking Status 170.315(a)(11)

Implantable Device List 170.315(a)(14)

Capacity to provide clinical decision support

Clinical Decision Support 170.315(a)(9)

Capacity to support physician order entry

Computerized Provider Order Entry 170.315(a)(1), (2), or (3)

Capacity to capture and query information relevant to health care quality

Clinical Quality Measures – Record and Export 170.315(c)(1)

Capacity to exchange electronic health information with, and integrate such information from other sources

Transitions of Care 170.315(b)(1)

Data Export 170.315(b)(6)

Application Access – Patient Selection 170.315(g)(7)

Application Access – Data Category Request 170.315(g)(8)

Application Access – All Data Request 170.315(g)(9)

Direct Project 170.315(h)(1) or Direct Project, Edge Protocol, and XDR/XDM 170.315(h)(2)


Q: When do I have to update my system to the 2015 Edition requirements?

A: No later than December 31, 2017. However, keep in mind that any provider seeking Stage 3 incentives in 2017 must do so using a 2015 Edition certified product, which means you may want to complete certification by the end of 2016.

Q: I thought 2015 Edition certification was voluntary – is it now required?

A: The 2015 Edition NPRM that was released in 2014 was slated to be voluntary. However, the Final Rule that was adopted was named the 2014 Edition Release 2 criteria (also voluntary). In March 2015, another 2015 Edition NPRM was published, which was then adopted as a Final Rule in October 2015.